Our Mission

To increase homeownership opportunities for South Dakota’s Native people to build strong and healthy communities.

What We Do

The South Dakota Native Homeownership Coalition is a collaborative group of key agencies dedicated to increasing homeownership opportunities for Native Americans in the state of South Dakota. Our growing group of members — including representatives of South Dakota’s tribes, federal and state agencies, tribally designated housing entities (TDHEs), nonprofit organizations, housing developers, lenders, and community development financial institutions — collectively develop and implement innovative strategies that promote Native American homeownership. 

"Creating a Clear Path to Homeownership"

Our History

Created in 2013, the South Dakota Native Homeownership Coalition was born out of a need to expand homeownership opportunities for Native Americans in the state of South Dakota. The Coalition works to increase Native homeownership rates by strategically leveraging knowledge and resources among stakeholders and other key entities. Through these synergies, we aim to revitalize our communities by creating an environment that supports Native Americans in achieving their dream of homeownership.

Board of Directors

Our Board of Directors is comprised of dedicated industry leaders who are committed to advancing opportunities for Native American homeownership.

Tawney Brunsch

Executive Director
Lakota Funds

Juel Burnette III

Branch Manager
First Tribal Lending

Tatewin Means

Executive Director
Thunder Valley Community Development Corporation

Phone: 605-867-2700

Lori Moen

Chief Operating Officer
GROW South Dakota

Email: lorim@growsd.org
Phone: 605-698-7654 x 127

Lorraine Polak

Executive Director
South Dakota Housing Development Authority

Email: lorraine@sdhda.org
Phone: 605-773-3181

Eric Shepherd

Executive Director
Sisseton Wahpeton Housing Authority

Email: eshepherd_swha@venturecomm.net
Phone: 605-419-1570

Colleen Steele

Executive Director

Mazaska Owecaso Otipi Financial

Email: csteele@mazaskacdfi.org
Phone: 605-867-1018

Lakota Vogel

Executive Director
Four Bands Community Fund

Email: lakota@fourbands.org
Phone: 605-964-3687

Sharon Vogel

Executive Director
Cheyenne River Housing Authority

Email: svogel@crhanetwork.org
Phone: 605-964-4265